Régine Chassagne, crédit photo George Fok

Régine Chassagne – KANPE Co-Founder

Régine Chassagne was born in Montreal. Her parents, born in Haiti, fled the dictatorship of François Duvalier in the ’60s.

Régine and Dominique Anglade co-founded KANPE with the goal of bringing the diaspora and friends of Haiti together to develop customized solutions to empower the neediest Haitian families to become autonomous.

Régine is also the co-founder of the Montreal independent band Arcade Fire. Acclaimed by critics throughout the 2000s, Arcade Fire has been nominated for multiple Grammys, and won Album of the Year in 2011 for The Suburbs.

Since the beginning of her career, Régine has used her voice to speak for Haiti. A song titled “Haiti” appeared on the first Arcade Fire album, Funeral, released in Fall 2004.

Arcade Fire has donated $1 per ticket, both to Partners In Health and KANPE for every concert since 2005. To date, Arcade Fire has raised over $2 million for Haiti, trained more than 1,000 volunteers and signed up over 50,000 fans.

Régine supports many initiatives for Haiti, small and large.

© The Kanpe Foundation. KANPE ™ is a registrated trademark of The Kanpe Foundation, Inc.

Régine Chassagne, crédit photo George Fok

Régine Chassagne – Cofondatrice KANPE

Régine Chassagne est née à Montréal. Ses parents, nés en Haïti, ont fui la dictature de François Duvalier dans les années 60.

Régine Chassagne a cofondé KANPE avec Dominique Anglade avec deux buts : rassembler la diaspora et les gens interpelés par la cause haïtienne afin de développer des solutions sur mesure pour Haïti, et appliquer un modèle d’action durable qui contre la pauvreté en rendant autonomes les familles les plus démunies.

Régine Chassagne est également cofondatrice et coleader du groupe montréalais indépendant Arcade Fire. Acclamé par la critique musicale depuis les années 2000, Arcade Fire s’est vu décerner entre autres le prix Grammy de l’Album de l’année en 2011 pour son disque The Suburbs.

Depuis les débuts de sa carrière, Régine utilise aussi sa voix pour parler d’Haïti. Une chanson intitulée Haïti se retrouve sur le premier album du groupe, Funeral, paru à l’automne 2004.

Depuis 2005, Arcade Fire remet 1$ par billet vendu soit à Partners In Health, soit à KANPE à chacun de leurs concerts, partout dans le monde. À ce jour, le groupe a recueilli plus de 2 millions de dollars versés directement pour Haïti, formé plus de 1000 volontaires et engagé plus de 50 000 fans.

Régine apporte sans cesse son soutien à un grand nombre d’initiatives pour Haïti, petites et grandes.

© La Fondation Kanpe. KANPE MD est une marque déposée de The Kanpe Foundation Inc.